"To be a world-class university committed to raising a new generation of leaders in all fields of human endeavor"

Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Council

Peter A. Okebukola OFR, is a Nigerian Professor of Science and Computer Education. He is the former Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC). Professor Peter Okebukola was appointed the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman, Governing Council of Glorious Vision University, in 2021.

Professor Okebukola completed his secondary education at St. Malachy’s College, Sapele in 1967. He then proceeded to Remo Secondary School, Sagamu for his GCE Advanced Level programme. In 1973, Okebukola obtained his Bachelor’s degree in Science Education from the University of Ibadan, Ibadan. Between 1979 and 1984, he earned his Master’s and Ph.D degrees in Science Education from the same university. Okebukola also attended the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (M.I.T.) and Harvard University, Cambridge; where he completed a specialized Science and Technology training.

Okebukola began his career as a Science teacher at Holy Saviour’s College, Mushin, Lagos, at the age of 19. At the age of 23, he was the head of the Department of Science, Ososa Grammar School, Ijebu-Ososa, Ogun State. Okebukola also taught at Christ Apostolic Church Teachers` College, EfonAlaaye, Ekiti State; Okemesi Grammar School and Oyo State College of Education, Ilesha. In 1984, he joined the Lagos State University, Ojo, as a Senior Lecturer. While at the University, Okebukola held several of Posts, including the Dean, Faculty of Education and Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the Lagos State University. In 1996, Okebukola became the Acting Vice-Chancellor of the University. Between 1990 and 1991, Okebukola was a Visiting Fellow at the Science and Mathematics Education Centre, Curtin University of Technology, Perth, Australia. He is the pioneer Director, Lagos State University Africa Centre of Excellence for Innovative and Transformative STEM Education, LASU-ACEITSE.

Professor Okebukola is a Fellow of the International Academy of Education and was the African Representative on the Executive Committee of the International Council of Associations for Science Education between 1998 and 2007. He is a Fellow of the Science Association of Nigeria (SAN), Fellow and President of the Nigerian Association for Environmental Education and Fellow and past President of the Science Teachers Association of Nigeria (STAN).

Professor Okebukola has held different key positions in the Nigerian University system. Between 2001 and 2006, he was the Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission. He has been the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman Governing Council of Osun State University, Oshogbo; Crawford University, Igbesa, Ogun State; University of Education, Ikere-Ekiti, Ekiti State; National Open University of Nigeria. In 2021, he was appointed the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman, Governing of Council of Glorious Vision University, Ogwa, Edo State. He is also the Chairman, Board of Trustees, Caleb University, Imota, Lagos State.

Okebukola is a recipient of the National Honour of the Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic– OFR. He is the first African to win the United Nations Educational Scientific Cultural Organization‘s Kalinga Prize for Communication and Popularization of Science. In 2020, Okebukola won the AdasiScience True African Heroes Award 2020 and was conferred with the ‘Pillar of E-Learning in Africa’ for his contributions to e-Learning in Africa.

Professor Okebukola is married to Foluso Okebukola and the union is blessed with four children

Prof. Peter A. Okebukola, OFR
Governing Council Members

Professor A.B. Idowu
Vice Chancellor

Deputy Vice Chancellor(s)

Elder Prof. Joseph Akinyede

Overseer Prof. A.A. Adeloye

Overseer E. O. oyeyemi, FCA,Fimca

Prof. V. I. Olowe
In attendance

Deaconess Lovy A.Ndidi
VC ( In attendance)

Elder Prof Eyiwumi Falaye

Pastor J.K. Aiyedogbon

Representatives of the Senate
Four (4) Members

Representatives of Congregation
Member (2) 1 Academic, 2 Non-Academic

Representative of Convocation

Representative of the Ministry of Education, Edo State
Mr. Adams Osabuhohien

Representative of the Host Community
Dr. Samson Imafidon

Univsersity Registrar